Helping to organise your healthy eating…..

Standard

The most important thing for me (and anyone else who decides to make a change to healthy eating is being organised…..without being organised it’s very easy to reach for something convenient..something that doesn’t fall into the healthy eating category…it’s very easy to fail. For me I’ve found that deciding what I’m going to eat for the day puts

I’ve been reading and re-reading all my books again…I know they’re probably out of date to what’s going on with SW now but I think it’s important to keep brushing up on what’s got to be done.

Today was pay day….remind me again why I decided to start in between pays (we get paid every two weeks here)…now that wasn’t organised!!

So I need to check through the cupboards because I need to top up on the things that make SW so much easier…

CUPBOARD BASICS:

Stock cubes – chicken, beef, and vegetable (for soups, stews and sauces) ….check got these.
Chopped tomatoes – own brand is fine (for curries, pastas and chilli)…check but I always buy these every time we shop as I seem to use a lot of tomatoes anyway.
Potatoes – free, and fantastic. Bake them, boil them, chip them. It’s all good…..well looking at my food diary I eat a lot of spuds already Smile
Herbs and Spices…..check got these the other day at my favourite Indian supermarket. Use herbs and spices in meals …they will boost flavour and are free!
Garlic – fresh is best, jars of purée can have syns. Even if you think you don’t like garlic, you more than likely consume it all the time without realising it. You need it for flavour…we eat a lot of garlic anyway so all good.
Light soy sauce – for stir frying
Fry Light – the most important thing! ……and ……….You can’t get Fry Light in NZ!!! …so I looked at the net and it seems that the fat content of fry light is around 52% so I make my own by mixing oil and water in a spray bottle …then if I need to use oil for something give it a shake before you spray and it’s doing pretty much the same thing….but….where ever possible I dry fry things and avoid using oil as much as possible.
Eggs – fortunately I love eggs. Eggs are free , providing they are cooked without adding butter or oil…..and if I’m hungry I will poach a couple and have them with tomatoes just on their own….both free….and we have our own chooks so they’re pretty easily available around here.

Dried pasta – any shape or size
Rice – Needs to be rice that you have to cook fresh…anything in a packet that’s already prepared would need to have syns attached to it so because our brands are different here they won’t be getting into the cupboard (not that they do anyway to be honest).
Beans – beans are a Slimming Worlder’s best friend but not all beans are created equal….so I try to go for as low salt and sugar as possible (sugar content can be pretty high in beans here so you have to watch it).

DAIRY:

Yoghurt You can’t get Mullerlight in NZ but you can get Easiyo which you make yourself and there’s info available about them on the net– their low-fat Greek base is about 1.5syns for the whole lot made up for a litre but I use 1 syn for about 200mgs so I just watch how much I eat…because I seriously love it!! If I want it flavoured then I use food flavourings (ie lemon) or fruit which is free.
Milk – I use whole milk. We drink our milk straight from the cow so it is what it is. Yes I get to use less but I don’t use much as a rule anyway….but if I want to make something with milk I do and syn it. If I want to use more milk then I’ll go for semi-skimmed or skimmed (I will need to work out how to do this with our raw milk – ha I knew I’d be able to justify getting a cream separator somehow LOL!!) .
Cheese – Now we do buy cheese but we make our own to so I treat it like a full fat on the plan. Grated is good as it goes further. Don’t use mild cheese! The stronger a cheese is, the less you’ll need to use. Laughing Cow Light triangles are fab as you don’t need to weigh and you can use 5 for a Healthy Extra A (or they are 1.5 syns each)….so they are great to grab.

BREADS/CEREALS :

Bread is always a thing for me on this plan because again brands out here are different so I go for a wholegrain and I try and keep clear of bread on the whole…bread is my downfall Sad smile

Ryvita – a great fibre booster and handy for lunch, but if you’re used to bread I would give this a miss for a while until you get used to smaller portions of bread

Cereals – the book…I always need the book!!! 30g of cereal is miniscule!! I tend to stick to All bran and Porridge and use it to bulk up yogurt and fruit mix. I know you can use cereal bars but I don’t.

MEATS:

Well we grow our own so it’s just making sure I don’t go mad and use up everything but the main thing is it needs to be lean meat…cut of as much fat as possible.

FRUIT AND VEGETABLES:

Fruit and veg is the way to go to bulk up meals…luckily I love fruit and veg.
I buy the things I know I like….and I only buy enough so that I use it quickly and it stays fresh….there is nothing worse than manky fruit and veg!! Slimming world will work well though for someone who isn’t really into fruit and veg but I’m probably not the best person to ask about that because I love ‘em!

Soups are another Slimming World great staple and they are a great way of using lots of veg! Fruit is a big winner as it can satisfy a sweety craving – I love mixing them with my yogurt.

If you are a lover of all things fruity and vegetably then happy days! You can fill your boots (and your tummy)! The more Superfree foods you eat, the speedier the losses will be. Don’t forget though that sweetcorn and parsnips are not Superfree, they are free though so they’re still good for you. These can be used on the Extra Easy days of Slimming world (which I am not up on to be honest – and I understand that the basic is you replace a 1/3rd of the meal with Superfree foods….for me I think they fall into the SS category (Super speed) because they are non-starch.

  • Amaranth or Chinese spinach
  • Artichoke
  • Artichoke hearts
  • Asparagus
  • Baby corn
  • Bamboo shoots
  • Beans (green, wax, Italian)
  • Bean sprouts
  • Beets
  • Broccoli
  • Brussels sprouts
  • Cabbage (green, bok choy, Chinese)
  • Carrots
  • Cauliflower
  • Celery
  • Chayote
  • Coleslaw (packaged, no dressing)
  • Cucumber
  • Daikon
  • Eggplant
  • Greens (collard, kale, mustard, turnip)
  • Hearts of palm
  • Jicama
  • Kohlrabi
  • Leeks
  • Mushrooms
  • Okra
  • Onions
  • Pea pods
  • Peppers
  • Radishes
  • Rutabaga
  • Salad greens (chicory, endive, escarole, lettuce, romaine, spinach, arugula, radicchio, watercress)
  • Sprouts
  • Squash (cushaw, summer, crookneck, spaghetti, zucchini)
  • Sugar snap peas
  • Swiss chard
  • Tomato
  • Turnips
  • Water chestnuts
  • Yard-long beans

DRINKS:

Most ‘diet’ drinks are free, but make sure and check the nutritional info anyway, as some products that appear healthy and diet friendly really aren’t! Coffee and teas, without added sugar, are free. Make sure and drink lots your first week, as this will help to flush all the nasties out of you! I struggle with drinks..I’m notorious for not drinking cups of tea made for me …I get occupied doing something and they get forgotten…I try really hard to think of ways to increase my drinks….I like REALLY COLD water ..lots of ice. The point is keeping well hydrated helps weight loss so it’s important (now I just need to come here and read this often and do it!).

SYNS……

If you are the type of person who can cope with naughty things in the house, then good for you. There are loads of low-syn treats you can keep in your cupboards…I am not a great lover of chocolate…unless it’s in disgusting amounts so I prefer to not have chocolatey treats…..I never underestimate how addictive chocolate is!

 

The main thing about SW is that you don’t feel hungry…. use your syns!  There are great low/med syn treats so depending on what your “thing” is have a look about on this great world wide web we have access to and look up their syn value…there is loads of stuff out there all well under 10 syns a day.

If you have a lot of weight to lose, it’s possible that you can have up to 15 syns a day to begin with; if you’re part of a group your consultant will give you advice on this….and if like me you’re not in  a group then I’m starting off with what I was allocated when I did it last and then I’ll cut them down as I lose the weight.

 

If you have all this stuff as part of your first shop, there’s no reason why you won’t lose weight…well as long as you follow the rules of the plan of course.

 

FOOD DIARY…..

As I have already said…..you need to get organised so you need to have a wee think of what you’d like to eat over your first week…maybe write out a plan if you think it will help. Writing stuff out might seem very simple but it helps you focus and also means you’re less likely to go off track.

In addition to that though I like to keep a food diary…not a plan but a diary of exactly what you’ve eaten….don’t leave anything out…good or bad if you don’t lose weight one week or you gain you can go back over you diary and look at where you went wrong or where you can change things….it also means you can check the syn value of things

The main rule is: EAT EAT EAT….my husband was amazed the first time I did SW at the amount of food I was eating…he used to insist initially that there was no way I was going to lose weight eating the amount I was….thankfully he was wrong. 

The important things is to NEVER go hungry at any stage. I’ve said it already and it’s something the SW maintain…..this is not a diet. It’s a lifestyle change!

Fill up on free and superfree foods. Make sure you eat one serving of bread or cereal, and make sure you have a portion of dairy as well.

If you want to treat yourself look at the things you like and use your syns as a reward. 

 

OK now it’s got to be said ….your initial shop might be a little more expensive, but your herbs and spices etc will last a while….you don’t need to buy them all at once but make sure that when you go shopping to get something herby/spicey that will pack recipes with lots of taste. See it this way you are investing in your health…..once you get used to the foods you use a lot of you will be able to look at offers on these and it will get easier and cheaper…..then you can use the money you save to buy the new clothes you’ll need as the weight falls off !

Leave a Reply

