Vegetable Lasagne

Standard

0 syns per serving on green day (add 6 if not using the cheese as a healthy extra)
I don’t know if this can be frozen ..I’m going to give it a go and see how it does.
Ready in: about 1 ¼ hours
Serves 4

Ingredients
3 Onions
2 roughly chopped (a red one in the mix is a good idea)
1 finely chopped (this is to go into the sauce not be roasted).
1 Aubergine
2 Courgette / Zucchini
2 Bell Peppers / Capsicums (different colours is good but whatever you like)
Fry light (or as I use 1:1 oil water mix)
Salt and freshly ground black pepper
3 garlic cloves
2 tsp dried mixed herbs
A large pinch of grated nutmeg
400g can of chopped tomatoes
Sheets of no pre-cook lasagne (I used 5 ..mine are quite large sheets so just how many you need to make those layers)
113g cheddar cheese

Cheese Sauce
200g very low fat cottage cheese (blended) …I used the Labneh.
2/3 a large Cauliflower
A little bit of water (to loosen the sauce)

Preheat oven to 220degC/245degF/Gas 7. Roughly chop onion, aubergine, courgette and pepper. Place on baking sheet sprayed with fry light and season well. Roast in oven for 15-20mins or until cooked. I bulked the veggies out with Cauliflower (about a third of the Cauliflower)

Meanwhile, crush the garlic and put that and the chopped onion into a frying pan with a bit of water and some Worcestershire Sauce and cook until the onions are soft and the liquid has evaporated. Sprinkle over the herbs and then add the roasted vegetables and stir to mix in all the ingredients.

To make the cheese sauce – Cook the cauliflower until it’s soft and then mash it. Add that to the blended cheese and if need be then blend it again until you’ve got it as smooth as possible.

Spoon half the vegetable mixture into a casserole dish, lay half the lasagne sheets over and top with half the sauce. Repeat the layers, finishing with the sauce. Grate the cheese, sprinkle over the top and bake in the oven for 40-45mins. Serve with salad.

Now I had read about trying out cheese sauce using Cauliflower so it made it 0 syns and I was a bit sceptical but I have to say it was rather good…put it this way I don’t think I would have noticed if I hadn’t known….it’s not as rich but then that’s no surprise really when you’ve taken out the flour, and the butter and the milk!
I would say next time I will make it up with half the ingredients next time as I’m a big eater (yes it may come as a surprise to you but I can eat quite a lot)…this was huge!!! I ate a quarter of it and I’m full and the amazing thing is 0 syns!!!

I’m back at work tonight so I’m going to have a ham salad …got to use my healthy extra’s up somehow!

Leave a Reply

