Banana base for Ice cream…

Standard

Last week I made ice cream using the frozen banana method….I’d read about it on the www whilst I was looking for something that could fill that need for sweet whilst being syn free if that was possible. Up kept popping the banana base ice cream so I thought I had nothing to lose…..so….

  • Put some bananas in the freezer (1 per person – depending on how much you want…2 produced a lot and I like ice cream!)
  • Take them out when frozen and peel
  • Chop them up and put them in the food processor – at this time put in any additional fruit / flavour you would like
  • Blitz till smooth and ice cream looking ~ now this can take a wee while and stop starting …you need to keep scraping the mix around as it does block the blades a fair bit but it took in the end about 10 minutes give or take.

DSC04729_thumb[5]

Well I have to say….I used Blackberries in this one…which I have to say I wouldn’t recommend for a couple of reasons….1) It didn’t mask the flavour of the banana and 2)the pips!….they didn’t make for a nice eating experience. If I used them again it would be without the pips …a blackberry couli would be called for (but oh the faffing about for that!).

Anyhoo as it was OK but as I have already said the banana flavour still came through – fine if you really like bananas ….me I’m not so keen Smile with tongue out…don’t get me wrong I don’t mind them but I was going for a different flavour, the blackberries didn’t quite get there. Needs to be a stronger tasting fruit.

Am thinking I might try it again but with mango or something like that – it needs a fruit that will take over the banana.
The texture was pretty good though and if I can just get rid if the banana
taste it would be “syn free” ice cream that I can have on my healthy eating.

Leave a Reply

